My 200th post!! – Bone-drill

I found this bone which I think belonged to a Muntjac deer.

p1010399-816-x-612-large

Using a piece of flint I scored around the ends

p1010402-816-x-612

to remove them both

p1010404-816-x-612-large

Then I made wooden tips from Ash and Hazel for making fire by friction

p1010477-816-x-612-large

My flint knapping skills are not good unfortunately but I can do most of the things I need to with the right flake.

One end of the flake in the video below I used as a scraper to shape the wooden plugs to fit into the ends of the bone and the sharpe edge of the flake I used to cut throught the wood.

One thought on “My 200th post!! – Bone-drill

Leave a Reply

