Winter in Lapland 2009 – 7

I headed off into the forest again along a scooter trail.  The temperature was -16 degrees.

winter-2009-22-medium

It was rather cloudy and the sun soon set but there were still some nice views.

winter-2009-20-medium

winter-2009-21-medium1

The trees are mainly Pine (Tall in Swedish), Spruce (Gran) and Birch (Björk).

Later in the afternoon I decided to stop for a brew.  I headed off the scooter trail into the forest in thigh deep snow, collecting the lower dead branches from the Spruce as I walked.

winter-2009-24-medium1

This seemed like a good location to stop with a stump to rest on/against and somewhere to keep my kit out of the snow.

winter-2009-25

I needed to dig down into the snow to make my fire directly on the ground, and lacking a shovel I used my Crusader cup

more about “Diggingwithcup.flv video by sufguy1 -…“, posted with vodpod

I used some Birch bark in the Spruce branches and my firesteel to get the fire going.  The resin in the dead branches makes them burn well.

winter-2009-26

I melted a small amount of snow in my cup and then continued to add snow to the water to melt it.

winter-2009-27

Once I had a cup full of water I put the cup lid on and waited for the water to boil.

winter-2009-28

While sitting enjoying a hot cup of chocolate I had the idea to carry my Crusader cup in my soft leather possibles pouch but unfortunately it wouldn’t quite fit in so I decided to make a larger pouch once I got back to England…but more about that soon!

As I headed back it was almost dark and so peaceful.

winter-2009-29

3 thoughts on “Winter in Lapland 2009 – 7

  1. Pingback: Crusader mug possibles pouch « Fenlander’s Natural Lore Blog

Leave a Reply

