Winter in Lapland 2009 – 9

I took a two hour train journey from Gallivare to Jokkmokk on the Inland train, arriving in Jokkmokk at 10:45.

jokkmokk-2009-8-large

There were just so many things I would of liked to have bought, particularly a set of these woollen clothes with leather trims

jokkmokk-2009-9-large

but I was at the market to specifically buy Reindeer skins and antler tips.  While walking around the market I did meet my Swedish friend Marina who is attending a one year Primitive Skills Course.

The 6th February is national Saami day and there were presentations and songs being given on the main stage

jokkmokk-2009-10-medium

As I understand some bodies of Saami people were excavated from their graves for museum exhibits and the Saami people are now campaigning for them to be returned.

As well as people speaking there was also some yoiking which is Saami traditional singing.  This short piece of video is of  Thomas Marainen (thanks Marina) and was just so wonderful to listen to.  Unfortunately he does not seem to have any CD’s available to buy.

After completing my shopping list I headed off to watch the Reindeer racing again.  Here they are attaching the Reindeer to the sledges.

jokkmokk-2009-13-medium

and then they are released and the race begins

jokkmokk-2009-14-large

The girl leading in this race is Mary and she comes from the Cairngorm Reindeer Centre

jokkmokk-2009-12-large

In the next race one of the Reindeer broke free but this guy managed to hold on to the tether rope and travelled around the whole course like this

jokkmokk-2009-11

This was the final race that I saw

Then it was time for me to return to the station to catch my train, but here is a picture of all the items I bought

p1010831-medium

2 large Reindeer skins, 2 Birch tanned Reindeer hides for making my bags like the one you can see in the picture, antler tips for fasteners, two knife blades from the blacksmith who made my own blade and 10 kuksa’s which I am selling to help cover the cost of my trip.

3 thoughts on “Winter in Lapland 2009 – 9

    • They are £25 plus P&P and I only have a couple left. All you need to do is email to confirm you wish to buy one.

Leave a Reply

