Willow basket

I wanted a basket for carrying kindling from my woodshed for my woodburning stove, so I went for a walk and collected some willow wands.

willow-basket-1-small

Firstly I twisted two thicker wands into a circle to make a rim for the basket.

willow-basket-2-small

I weaved in the basket ribs

willow-basket-3-small

I continued weaving between between the rib, filling in the basket

willow-basket-4-small

As I filled in the middle of the basket I did not weave to the basket rim.  This creates two opposing handles for carrying the basket when it’s full.

willow-basket-6-small

This handle is very different to those on other baskets I have made

baskets-small

My weaving skills are still rather slow but after three hours the basket was completed

willow-basket-5-small

willow-basket-7-small

And the finished basket is certainly fit for purpose

willow-basket-8-small

YOU CAN BUY A SMALL WILLOW BASKET MAKING KIT, WITH INSTRUCTIONS HERE

13 thoughts on “Willow basket

    • If woven tightly they do not move a great deal. I do use my fingers every so often to pull the weaves closer together.

    • Having trawled through my vast library of images unfortunately I lack the images required to answer your question but as soon as I get time I will take the pictures required and explain. I have tried “Googling” but cannot find an explanation.

  1. Very nice Blog.
    In the past years I always thought there is no market for this kind of products, but now I know there are so many people care the world…
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

