Lapland Spring 2009 – May 21st

Left Gallivare early and Anki drove me to my cabin.  We had to stop briefly to allow some Reindeer to cross the road.

reindeer crossing road (Large)

My first task was to check for damage, unlock all doors and remove the protective boards from the cabin windows.

cabin windows (Medium)

With temperatures in the mid to late 20’s before I arrived, it was a very different scene

P1020339 (816 x 612) (Small)

to what I had encountered at the same time last year

Clearing snow again (816 x 612) (Large)

I had with me a huge Reindeer skin which I had bought at Jokkmokks marknard in winter and Anki and Ingvar had stored for me.

Reindeer skin (Small)

Once I had got the boat out onto the lake I rowed to the far end to collect fresh drinking water from the spring

going to fetch water (Medium)

The spring water is beautifully clear and refreshing

drinking spring water (Small)

I made fire in the stove but found that the chimney was blocked and so had to climb on to the roof to sweep the chimney.

P1020345 (816 x 612)

The problem was a mouse which had made a nest inside the chimney.  With the chimney cleared I was able to make fire and and boil water for coffee.

In the evening I decided to walk to the marsh

marsh (Small)

There were lots of birds on the marsh including; 20 Ruff displaying, Greenshank, Spotted Redshank, Wood Sandpipers, 5 displaying Lapwing (there were none last year), many Scandinavian race Yellow Wagtails with dark heads and as I was watching a Common Crane flew in and landed.  On the ground around me there were many Cranberries remaining from last autumn which I collected to eat

Cranberries (Small)

The marsh is a very dangerous place.  You are supported on a thick mat of Sphagnum moss and other vegetation but if you break through the surface there is nothing below

more about “Walkingonmarsh.flv video by sufguy1 -…“, posted with vodpod

While in Gallivare I had bought a pair of wellington boots to enable me to get around on the marsh.  Unfortunately the left foot had a fault and was not water resistant and so I got a wet foot

boots (Medium)

I spent the rest of the evening relaxing and birdwatching around the cabin and saw many species; Redpoll, Pied Flycatcher, Brambling, Great tit, White Wagtail. Common Sandpiper, Siskin, Tree Pipit, Goosander, House Martin, Crossbills, Waxwing, Spotted Flycatcher, Swallow, Raven, Redwing, Mistle Thrush, Tufted Duck, Green Sandpiper, Curlew, Cuckoo, Chaffinch, Great spotted Woodpecker, Goldeneye and Smew.

One thought on “Lapland Spring 2009 – May 21st

Leave a Reply

