Lapland Spring 2009 – 23rd May

I walked into the forest to cut some more poles and passed an area where a Redwing (Turdus iliacus) a member of the Thrush family was mobbing me and alarm calling so I decided to look around and see if it had a nest.  I did not have to look far

Redwing nest (Small)

The nest contained 6 eggs

Redwing eggs (Small)

I had cut down some poles when the boys joined me again and as there were many mosquitoes I decided to show them how to make a smudge fire to help keep the mosquitoes away.  The lose bark from the Pine can be collected  and will ignite with a spark from the firesteel

Pine bark (Small)

but to make it easier for the boys to make fire we collected Old Man’s Beard Lichen

Old mans beard (Small)

We used the lower dead branched from the poles I had cut as fuel and then started to add the green branches

making smudge fire (Small)

to produce smoke

smudge (Small)

This was sufficient to keep most of the mosquitoes away, but I demonstrated that added much more green Pine would produce a high column of white smoke which can be used as a signal fire for emergencies or if lost and people are searching.

smoke fire (Small)

Although it was my birthday the following day, in Sweden (as it was a Saturday) it was my unofficial birthday so that people could drink and not have to drive to work the next day and Anki had arranged a party.  The whole family came to Anki’s cabin bringing food and presents.  (I feel so lucky to have these people as my friends because they owe me nothing yet they give me so much!!)  Here I am opening my gifts.

opening presents (Medium)

and here are the children enjoying the party

party (Medium)

My friend Teres had also made me a traditional birthday cake (at least that is what they told me it was……I was a little suspicious at first) called I think “Sill tarte” which translated means herring cake

Sill torte (Medium)

and it was FANTASTIC.  Savoury, not sweet but very tasty.

Here are the gifts they gave to me;

birthday gifts (Small)

two fleecs blankets, some candy sweets, a set of Moose (Alg) antlers on a crown to go on the wall of my cabin and a frying pan of the type traditionally used when cooking out in the forest.

In the evening we decided to go fishing and Simon wanted to show me good places to fish

Simon fishing (Medium) (2)

and of course he caught a fish!!!…..but I didn’t

Simon with fish (Medium)

As the sun began to set we made fire

P1020405 (816 x 612) (Medium)

and spent the rest of the evening relaxing and watching the sun set

P1020400 (789 x 579)

Birds of note; Male Smew, Waxwings, Common and Parrot Crossbills, Siskin, Common Crane

4 thoughts on “Lapland Spring 2009 – 23rd May

  1. Hello Fenlander – can you give me some information on where I can get a frying pan like the one you got as a gift? It looks very nice!
    thanks,
    Mungo

    • I can send you the email address of the guy who made it as he does not seem to have a website, but he may not speak English.

  2. Not too sure that the little dude on the left is enjoying the party Kevin!

    Looks like a fab trip, oh and happy birfday xx

Leave a Reply

