Rib bone netting needle

I found this old rib bone while out walking and it occurred to me that it might make a very good netting needle for.

As I abraded the edges with a piece of flint I noticed the bone possessed two laminated layers.

I battened my knife between the layers to split the bone in half.

I used a piece of flint to abrade the edges of the bone to produce the basic needle shape.I made a prototype pump drill with a flint tip, to drill a series of holes through the bone.Using a piece of flint to connect the holes, I formed the tongue of the needle.I completed the needle by using a combination of an abrasive stone and a piece of file, to smooth the edges of the needle. The completed needle is 220mm long and 22mm wide.

 

Here are the tools I used to make the needle.

and here you can see some of the netting I have made with it.

2 thoughts on “Rib bone netting needle

  1. Hi Tony, I was inspired by the work of Patrick at Backwoods Survival School so you should take a look there as well.

Leave a Reply

