Fire by…….PHONE!!!!??

IMPORTANT NOTICE!!
Short circuiting Lithium batteries is apparently very dangerous and can result in the battery catching fire or exploding so only use this method in a true survival situation!!

I like to set myself challenges, so while out the other day I decided to see whether I could make fire with just the items in my pocket. The items from my pocket were a set of keys, my mobile phone, cotton wool from a small bandage and a small piece of wire wool.

I knew the cotton and wire wool could be used as tinders but I couldn’t think of any way to use my keys or my mobile……..but then I considered the methods I have previously used to ignite wire wool. I had no method to create a spark but I have used a battery with both terminals at one end to ignite it in the past and then realised that a phone (or camera battery) usually have such a battery inside.

I had never heard of or seen this demonstrated before I so I was rather sceptical about it working, so watch the piece of video below to see whether it did.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Wireandcottonwool.flv – Video – Photo…“, posted with vodpod

2 thoughts on “Fire by…….PHONE!!!!??

  1. I checked in my pockets. Phone – yes, wire wool – no, cotton wool -no. I do have some coins and keys. Just an idea, but say I made some metal filings (perhaps by rubbing a serrated edge of a key against a coin). Could I set fire to metal filings with a battery? UK pennies have a lot of iron in their core these days if iron was needed. Anyone care to try? I have read that iron filings in a fire can cause an explosion so keep the volume small.

    • Hi Richard, This site doesn’t go live until January so you are the first to post, but there may be a slight delay in other replies mate ;>)
      Personally I think it’s worth a try! Have a Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

