Woodburning stove

I had a woodburning stove fitted into my living room just before Christmas and having used and experimenting with it for almost a month I think it is one of the best purchases I have made.

p1010475-large

The stove itself was £270 but the flue and labour to fit it all to meet building regulations, brought the total cost to nearly £2000!  However I do not have to use my electric heating now or my kettle (as I boil water on the stove top) and my electric cooker is rarely used because I cook on the top as well.

I use my cast iron dutch oven as an oven and for making stews

p1010520-large

and my frying pan for such things as pancakes

p1010646-large

Outside I have made a lean-to where seasoned wood can be stored

p1010594-small

and I’ve made a saw-horse for cutting up logs

p1010661-small

which folds flat and can be stored up under the lean-to roof, as you can see here

p1010593-small

It has taken quite some time to discover a way to keep the fire inboth at night and when I am work.  When staying outside and using a campfire I can often find glowing embers deep inside the pile of ash, so I took the ash from the ash tray in the bottom of the stove and covered the fire with a thick layer and this has proved very successful.  I can in fact keep the fire in for 10 hours.

7 thoughts on “Woodburning stove

  1. Just wondering whether your stove came with a,so called, ‘multi-fuel grate’. These are designed to allow you to burn coal aswell as wood. I’ve always found that wood works best when burnt on a bed of ash,something you don’t get with a stove with a grate. Also the grate tends to take up a lot of room that you could be using for more logs. It does mean you have to let the fire go out periodically to empty the build up of ash but this does give you an opportunity to clean the glass ( wood ash on old washing up pad is the biz) re-glue door rope etc. Looks great , makes a real focus to ones home and think of all the carbon you are saving….like to see some of your craft work up on the walls though!

    • It does indeed have a multi-fuel grate but if I remove it the ash covers the air inlets at the bottom of the door. I was told about using wood ash the other day, though it is a mild abrasive so would it not scratch the glass eventually? I was also told not to buy glue for the door rope, but to instead use raw egg white which apparently works really well once heated.

    • At the back the legs fit between the roof and a structural support and at the front there are two small blocks that the legs sit on.

  2. I once put a stove flue through a ceiling/floor and ceiling/roof using steel boxes made from a washing machine casing, filled with vermiculite, as heat insulators. The flue pipe cost a few pounds from a scrapyard and I built the stove which did twenty five seasons for me running on scrap wood and pallets. I now run a Morso Dove which is nice but am building a wood fired cremation furnace for my beloved cats’ bodies. The furnace has a secondary combustion system for high temperature and efficiency.

Leave a Reply

