Winter in Lapland 2009 – 4

I was up at first light (just after 7am) and went walking in the forest.  I decided to walk along the scooter trail to Kiruna.  My first encounter of the day was 2 Black Grouse (Tetrao tetrix) jumping around halfway up in some Spruce.  Next I found fresh track of Mountain Hare (Lepus timidus)

winter-2009-12

and some droppings

winter-2009-13

but I did not see a hare.

The trail crosses a river and in the picture below I am standing on the river to take the picture

winter-2009-14

Crossing the river and heading into the forest I found evidence of where a group od Reindeer had been feeding.  In this picture you can see some droppings in the bottom left of the picture.

winter-2009-16

The Reindeer will bury down into the snow with there heads and plough through it to reach vegetation on the ground and often all you see is a series of backsides sticking in the air.  This can leave hollows in the snow and you can see one of those to the right of this picture

winter-2009-17

As the sun rose there was beautiful red sky which this picture doesn’t really do justice to unfortunately

winter-2009-15-medium

Personally I felt I wasn’t taking a great deal with me when out walking

winter-2009-18-medium

but each time I walked out of the house Ingvar would give me questioning glance of  “why are you carrying so much for a walk in the forest?”

As I walked back across the river the sight of sunlight on the hill stood out against the duller surroundings

winter-2009-19

After returning home I was asked if I would like to visit the Ice Hotel at Jukkasjavi (Javi meaning lake), but more about that next time.

4 thoughts on “Winter in Lapland 2009 – 4

  1. Wow. Extraordinary. Beautiful. Once again I am enjoying these dispatches from Swedish Lapland. Once again you make me want to visit there. Thank you.

  2. I appreciate that photos do not do justice to what you saw, but there are some stunning photos there Kevin..

Leave a Reply

