Crusader mug possibles pouch

As I mentioned here https://naturallore.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/winter-in-lapland-2009-7/

I had the idea to carry my Crusader mug in  my possibles pouch (the one you can see on my belt in the picture below) but unfortunately the pouch was a little too small.

pouch-8-small

So on my return from Sweden I decided to make a new pouch using one of many leather off-cuts given to my by a friend.   You can also see my original pouch in the picture below.

pouch-1

I began by drawing around the shape of the mug to get the dimensions right for the piece of leather.  Then I marked out the leather and cut out the basic shape with my knife.

pouch-2-large

With an awl I marked stitching holes around the leather, about 5mm in from the edge and used 1mm leather thong/thread to stitch it together.

pouch-3-large

Once the stitching was completed I turned the pouch inside out so that the stitching was inside and then tested to see the mug would fit ok.

pouch-4-large

I attached a Roe Deer antler button to the front of the pouch and cut a slit in the top so that the pouch can be securely closed.

pouch-5

I cut two 20mm strips of leather and threaded through slits in the back of the pouch and stitched them to form two belt loops.

pouch-6

And the pouch was completed.  It holds all the items from my previous pouch plus some tea bags, a small pot of coffee and a packet of hot chocolate, so I can brew up at any time.

pouch-7-large

What items would you carry in your Crusader mug?

2 thoughts on “Crusader mug possibles pouch

  1. Pingback: Lapland Spring 2009 – 25th May « Fenlander’s Natural Lore Blog

  2. Pingback: End of year round-up « Fenlander's Natural Lore Blog

Leave a Reply

