New axe project

I was keen to test out my new axe so I decided to make a “bucksaw”.  My first task was to split a piece of Ash in half

bucksaw-1-816-x-612-small

Then I carved the two halves into the required dimensions

bucksaw-2a-816-x-612-medium

and cut the pieces to length beginning with the two uprights

bucksaw-2-816-x-612-small

and then a horizontal piece

bucksaw-3-816-x-612-small

I used a mortise and tenon joint to join them together, which I have to say was not easy with a knife!

bucksaw-3a-816-x-6121

I cut a groove across the bottom of each upright

bucksaw-6-816-x-612

into which the saw blade fits

bucksaw-4-816-x-612-small

I twisted up some Hemp as a tensioning cord and with a piece of Ash this works as a windlass to tension the blade

bucksaw-5-816-x-612-small

On another piece of Ash I scored a groove using this piece of flint

bucksaw-7-816-x-612-large

as a burin

bucksaw-8-816-x-612

this acts rather like a small plane as you draw it along the wood, shaving off small curls of wood

bucksaw-9-816-x-612-medium

The saw blade fits into this groove and this piece of Ash acts a blade guard.

Now in the process of making this bucksaw I had an idea for another potential use for the frame and this is what I will posting about next time.

Leave a Reply

