Multi purpose backpack

Having made a bucksaw in my previous post I had the idea to use the frame for making a backpack.

For this I inverted the saw blade and put on the blade cover

bucksaw-10-816-x-612-small

I have a Reindeer skin that I sleep on and by cutting some small slots down the edges of the skin I can thread Hazel wands through

bucksaw-10-5-600-x-450

to form a bag

Lacking rawhide I used parachute cord for lashing.  Firstly lashing the skin to the frame

bucksaw-10-4-816-x-612-small

and across the front of the skin

bucksaw-10-3-816-x-612-medium

The top of the skin acts as the pack lid

bucksaw-10-2-600-x-450-medium

and with a couple of carrying straps attached the pack is complete

bucksaw-10-1-598-x-446-medium

Now to be honest this needs a bit more work to really be usable but I have posted about it to hopefully inspire others to develop the idea.  After all, in addition to a backpack you have;

by withdrawing the Hazel wands, a skin to sit and sleep on

sea-cadets-2-small

and by removing the blade guard and flipping the blade over, a bucksaw

bucksaw-5-816-x-612-small1

6 thoughts on “Multi purpose backpack

Leave a Reply

