Lapland Spring 2009 – 22nd May

Rowed to the far end of the lake first thing this morning and went walking in the forest, but very quickly it clouded over and really heavy rain fell.  I was soaked by the time I got back to the cabin and it’s times like that when I really appreciate have the cabin and a warm fire to go back to.

I collected the rain water from the roof of the cabin for drinking and cooking

collecting rain water (Medium)

While it was raining I carved some hooks from pieces of Pine

coat hooks (Large)

to nail up around the cabin to hang things from.

coat hooks on wall (Large)

After the rain stopped I decided to go into the forest to begin cutting small Pine trees for poles to make a traditional style tipi or kåta.  I was careful in my selection, taking a tree where two were very close together and only one would survive, or trees that did not look so healthy.

Pine poles (Small)

Once I had cut down a tree, I removed all the branches with my axe

sneding tipi poles (Small)

To remove the bark I drove the tip of a knife into a wooden batten to make a simple draw knife

peeling poles (Small)

I tried eating the inner bark which was surprisingly tasty and quite sweet.

I was having lunch and some coffee at my cabin when I heard the voices of children in the forest

me at cabin (Medium)

It was the grandchildren of my friends Anki and Ingvar who were coming to visit me.  The children are taught survival skills in school in Sweden and they were keen to learn new skills from me.  Particularly making fire without matches.

I began by demonstrating the bow-drill to them and then we headed into the forest to collect different tinders for them to experiment with using firesteels.

seb making fire (Small)

We also experimented with flint and steel to make fire with True Tinder fungus

Rasmus making fire (Small)

The boys were also keen to teach me things as well.  Here they are explaining how to navigate in the forest using Wood Ant nests

boys showing ants nest (Small)

and here Simon is demonstrating how to eat the ants without being bitten.

Simon eating Wood ant (Small)

They were actually quite pleasant to eat.

We spent the evening fishing though no one caught anything.

Simon fishing (Medium)

New birds; Redstart, Song Thrush, Mallard, Teal, Whimbrel, Capercaillie and two groups of Black Grouse lekking on the edge of the marsh.

2 thoughts on “Lapland Spring 2009 – 22nd May

  1. Hi mate sounds like a great time! How did you get on with the pine bowdrill? I have had a quick try but was in a hurry, never got it to work. I will try again next time I am out. Have recently read that cutting away the outer sap wood and using the inner core helps what do you think?

    • I did not use Pine for the bow-drill. I use either Willow or Spruce. I have never successfully produced an ember with Pine.

Leave a Reply

