Vegetable plot

In March this year I decided to set aside a small area of my garden as a vegetable plot.  I cleared an area 2.8m x 1.3m back to bear earth and created a raised border around it

Veg garden-1 (816 x 612) (Small)

I have a heavy clay soil in my garden so I dug the area over and mixed sand, leaf mulch, home made compost and the ash from my woodburning stove

veg garden-3 (816 x 612) (Small)

Once completed it looked like this

veg garden-4 (816 x 612) (Small)

Firstly I planted Chard, Parsley, Lettuce, Fat Hen and Sorrel.  A couple of weeks later I planted potatoes, carrots, onions and divided up a Garlic bulb I had bought from a local supermarket and planted each clove.

By July my veg patch was looking much greener

veg garden-5 (816 x 612) (Small)

From my twelve potato plants I harvested enough potato’s for three weeks meals.  I did not pull my lettuces but instead cut them just above ground level and each time they regrew.  I had enough lettuces for over two months.

veg garden-6 (816 x 612) (Small)

I am still harvesting the Chard and Fat Hen now.  The carrots have been slow to grow and I have only been pulling them for a couple of weeks. I planted the onions too deep and so they did not grow very well but the garlic was a great success

veg plot-7 (816 x 612) (Small)

I now have Leeks planted to replace the potatoes and will harvest them in the winter.

4 thoughts on “Vegetable plot

  1. Looks pretty impressive to me. My parents grew carrots for the first time this year – they were more raddish like in shape than anything else!

  2. Nice one Kevin. We did pretty well on the garlic this year too.. We got cloveless garlic though. Not sure how that happened, but its easier to unwrap..
    Our spuds were doing well until the blight came.. :0(

  3. BTW.. Can you send us your address. Jane has a magazine article about Swedish berries that she thought you would like..

  4. Hey Kevin,

    Looking great. There is little more better in this world than eating food grown a few yards from the kitchen!

    I wanted to ask what the lettuce variety was that you grew, it looked really tasty in the pics.

    all the best

    Paul

Leave a Reply

