Primitive Bone Knife

During the summer I completed the Woodcraft School Primitive Technology course.

The course required that at least one our craft items had to be made using only primitive tools and techniques.

I decided to make myself a bone knife and a bark sheath for it. The knife I made from a Lamb’s thigh bone and the sheath was made from Sweet Chestnut (Castanea sativa) inner bark.

Bone utility knife & Sheath

Bone utility knife & Sheath

I wanted to be able to use the knife as an Awl for working hides, as a Bodkin for when weaving and as a general knife for cutting cordage and meat.

This post will concentrate on how the knife was made. The next post will be about the sheath.

The bone I used was a thigh bone known as the Shank. Hence the names ‘Lamb Shank’ as a cut of meat and the word ‘Shank’ as a primitive knife.

Fresh Bone & Flint

Fresh Bone & Flint

As I was using primitive tools and techniques only I scraped all the fat and flesh off with a piece of flint.

Other students tried burning the fat and flesh off but the made the bone brittle so it easily shattered. It is slippery work that requires a lot of patience. One slip and the flint will cut you as cleanly as any sharp knife.

Slippery work

Slippery work

After an hours work I had the bone cleaned up.

Ready for carving

Ready for carving

I decided that one knuckle would make a good handle but the other had to be removed.

I scored a line around the whole bone near the knuckle I wanted removed. Apologies for the slightly out of focus picture. The score line was about a couple of millimetres deep.

Removing a knuckle

Removing a knuckle

After scoring the line John Ryder (course instructor) showed me how to scorch the line to make it a little brittle in that area.

Scorching the bone

Scorching the bone

A close up.

Scorch line

Scorch line

Once the line was scorched all the way around a little gentle tapping was all that was needed.

A gentle tapping

A gentle tapping

A crack soon appeared.

Cracked bone

Cracked bone

To finally remove the knuckle I carried on scraping with the flint.

Removed knuckle

Removed knuckle

Once the knuckle was removed then I decided on the shape of my knife point. I did this by gently scraping with the flint on the bone to define my knife shape.

Flint score lines

Flint score lines

Then making sure that the bone was on a stable surface and held in a secure grip the tedious scraping began. The carving out of the knife shape took a number of hours.

Making the groove

Making the groove

The awl tip taking shape.

Awl tip

Awl tip

Eventually I was able to prise a section of bone out.

Removal of bone

Removal of bone

I went through two pieces of flint carving the bone out.

Eventually the general shape of the knife was produced.

Basic shape - front

Basic shape - front

And the other side.

Basic shape - back

Basic shape - back

A messy but necessary job is to remove the remaining marrow. I just used a small stick for this.

Removing the marrow

Removing the marrow

To give the knife a basic edge I used a piece of sandstone.

Sanding the edge

Sanding the edge

Any rough edges I tidied up with flint.

Final touches with flint

Final touches with flint

Below you can see the side profile of the knife. This curve is useful as a Bodkin in basket weaving. In the next post you will see that this was the knifes first job.

Side profile - Bodkin

Side profile - Bodkin

Here the knife is sitting on the inner bark I used to make the sheath out of.

Ready for its sheath

Ready for its sheath

More on that next time.

George

One thought on “Primitive Bone Knife

  1. What is your lrocess for hides? I have recently started to learn how to tan and work hides. I have done a few rabbit hides, which have turned out very nice but I had trouble fleshing a piece of deer hide. Any tips?

Leave a Reply

