Last day at work

Yesterday was my last day at work.  I have worked for my current employer for the last nineteen and a half years, managing a variety of nature reserves and habitats.

At the age of eleven I began helping out in a small nature reserve located in the town I grew up in.  I then started cycling 13 miles at weekends and school holidays to work as a volunteer for The Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust, talking to visitors in the birdwatching hides and undertaking some practical management tasks.

When I left school I worked for the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds for two years on a work placement scheme and after that I returned to The Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust and worked for them for two years.  After leaving WWT I began working for what was at the time Nature Conservancy Council (my current employer).

A colleague noticed another strange coincidence yesterday that reinforces my belief that I am doing the right thing….the expiry date on my staff pass is January 2010!!

3 thoughts on “Last day at work

  1. Hi Fenlander, I’ve been an avid reader of your blog and your early posts on bcuk for ages now. I’m so pleased that you are going to live the dream. Good luck with your future in Sweden! And thank you for entertaining us with your blog. It will be missed…………unless you are going to continue it (please).

    All the best, Ted

  2. Hi Fenlander

    Mike told me today that you had moved on. I wish you and your new family all the very best for ever!

    greetings

    Nick

Leave a Reply

