5 days at the cabin in April 2010 – Part 1

I have just returned from a five day trip to my cabin and will be writing about it here over the next few days.

I was hoping I would catch the beginning of summer migrant birds arriving back to breed and with a Common Redstart (Phoenicurus phoenicurus)
being the first bird I heard singing when I parked my car to walk the 4km to my cabin, I was sure I would have an interesting few days.

As I walked to the cabin I saw 11 female Capercaillie together in Spruce trees and 1 male a little later along the trail.  I also disturbed a pair of Hazel Grouse but saw no small birds at all!

I eventually arrived at my cabin

and my first task was to collect snow and boil and filter for drinking water


Leave a Reply

