Bird migration is underway

More and more open water is appearing on the lakes and rivers

and more birds are arriving/passing through.

On Thursday evening I drove to an area near to Porjus, where I left my car and walked the short distance to the Luspen Bird Tower

As I walked to the tower I found a Chiffchaff feeding on the ground in undergrowth under some small Birches.

Even before I had reached the tower I could hear Common Cranes and Whopper Swans calling.

The tower overlooks the Stora Luleälv (älv means river in Swedish) which is an important migration route for birds breeding further north.

There are two levels inside the tower, the upper being accessed through this trapdoor

and there are large windows which open and allow 360 degree viewing.

I saw; 47 Whooper Swans, 24 Common Cranes, 4 Pink-footed Geese, 1 Kestrel, 2 Goldeneye, 2 Curlew displaying and as I returned to my car a White-tailed Sea Eagle flew low over the trees.

It was great just to sit in the tower and watch and listen

On Friday I saw my first Fieldfare and Redwing returning for the summer to breed and yesterday morning there were many Fieldfares around and some were already singing.

One thought on “Bird migration is underway

  1. We’ll be up there in less than a fortnight. Can’t wait for my annual fix. Were it not for the responsibilities of extended family, I’d be living there like a shot.

Leave a Reply

