Gathering wood

We are about to put a woodburning stove in our house, so just before the snow arrived I was out in the forest harvesting wood from the land that we have.

The first task of course was to make fire

It was a very cold day so the coffee pot was cooking all the time

and of course it was nice to get warm by the fire

As I felled the trees I stacked the branches for use in shelter building

and the timber I have stacked against trees to dry and I will collect them with the snow mobile later in the winter

Some of the Pine I used to build a bed

I covered it with a layer of small Birch and then covered the Birch with a thick layer of Pine.

I was hoping to build a shelter over the bed before the snow came, but did not have time.

Leave a Reply

