Guiding in Muddus National Park-2

We were up at 7am next morning and after breakfast I helped Dirk pack and weigh the bags for the Reindeer.

At 9am we began our next part of the journey to another cabin 9kms away.

shortly after I took this picture

one of the reindeer got away from the person leading it and ran off into the trees carrying our guests sleeping bags and food.  I ran after him but was unable to catch him and eventually he ran off across the marshes.

We decided to return to the cabin where we had stayed the previous night.  I would stay with the guests at the cabin and Dirk would take some reindeer pellets and try to find the reindeer.

Dirk disappeared into the forest (to return 4 hours later with the reindeer) and I made coffee for the guests.  After an hour or so the guests were a little bored so I decided to do a firelighting demonstration.  I began with flint and steel and because everything was so wet, it was a bit of a challenge to make fire.  I used Willow from the log store to make a bow-drill set and make fire, I demonstrated the firesteel and talked about how to make fire using the bottom of a drinks can and a condom.

Another method of firelighting I usually demonstrate is with wire-wool and a 9 volt battery, but although I always carry wire-wool in my tinder kit I do not carry a 9v battery.  However, it occurred to me to try a different method using two AA batteries and my knife

Here’s how I did it….

Vodpod videos no longer available.

More soon…..

3 thoughts on “Guiding in Muddus National Park-2

  1. That’s pretty awesome. I always carry extra AA batteries in my camera bag. I never looked at them as a potential fire starter. I just add a wad of steel wool to my camera bag to complete the kit.

Leave a Reply

