Nature in November

I’ve been out and about this week seeing and hearing a few things.

The week began with 9 Capercaillie along a section of road just outside Nattavaara

There was also a White-tailed Sea Eagle sitting in the middle of the road drinking from a puddle, but unfortunately I wasn’t fast enough with the camera to get a picture before it flew off.  I have also seen two different Hawk owls, but only managed to photograph one (and the picture quality is not so good).

People in Dokkas have been seeing Pygmy Owl (Sparvuggle in Swedish).  Here is a picture taken by my friend Jeanette, from her window in Dokkas

The Pygmy Owl is only about 16cms long and feeds on small birds and mammals.  It is most active around dawn and dusk.  I did not manage to see the Pygmy Owl, but I did hear it two times singing it’s Autumn song which you can hear here.

On Wednesday morning when I drove to Dokkas,  I had a Raccoon Dog (Nyctereutes procyonoides) run across the road and into the forest.  This is the first time I have seen one, but I wrote about them previously here.

We also have a pair of Siberian Tit coming to our garden bird table most days and I finally managed to take a couple of pictures.

Leave a Reply

