Homemade ice fishing rod

I decided to try making an ice fishing rod.  This is just a prototype and if it works well, I will improve the design.

homemade ice fishing rod

The rod itself is a piece of Willow (Salix).

The handle I have made by glueing together pieces of Birch bark onto the Willow rod.

pimpelspö

The eyelet at the end of the rod I have made from a piece of reindeer horn, which I have then lashed to the rod.

ice fishing rod antler eyelet

For the “reel” I have made two pins from reindeer horn and drilled the rod and inserted the pins in.  The fishing line then wraps around between the two pins.

homemade ice fishing rod reel

I have not had the chance to try out yet, but will let you know how it goes!

4 thoughts on “Homemade ice fishing rod

Leave a Reply

