Testing a new ice fishing rod/reel

Today I have been out ice fishing (surprise surprise!).  I wasn’t just using my reindeer horn ice fishing rod, I was also testing a new ice fishing reel/rod that I have made using an old snuff container, which I call “The pocket fishing kit” (will be writing a tutorial to make this next time).

pocket fishing kit

The snuff container has a winder on the back to reel in or out the fishing line.

snuff container fishing rod

But did I catch anything……….?

Of course I did!!  I caught a nice Arctic Char with it and a Rainbow Trout and Arctic Char with my Reindeer horn rod.

arctic char

To cook coffee on the lake, I made a Swedish Fire Torch using four pieces of Birch.

swedish fire torch naturallore

The fire burns between the four pieces and your cooking pot is placed on top.

swedish fire torch kevin warrington

Once you have finished cooking, separate the four pieces and lay them down to stop the fire burning, and when you want to cook again, stand them up and start the fire again.

stopping fire torch burning

3 thoughts on “Testing a new ice fishing rod/reel

Leave a Reply

