A day at the cabin

Last Saturday i spent the day at my cabin.  As you can see there is still ice on the lake.

spring at my cabinand there is still a lot of snow on the ground

cabin spring 2015Very similar conditions to when I spent my first spring there in 2008.

I went for a long walk while at the cabin and found a trail of feathers

featherswhich led to the remains of a male Capercaillie

capercaillie remainsI imagine he had been displaying and was unaware of a Fox creeping up on him.  You can see Fox droppings in this picture

fox droppings

I also found some fresh Mink droppings

mink droppings

Black Grouse were also displaying at the cabin

black grouseand there was a hare

hareThe most common birds in the forest just now are Siskin

siskinand Brambling

brambling-1 brambling-2Reindeer are also calving at the moment

reindeer and calfOf course while out walking I made fire, cooked coffee and grilled sausage!

grilling korv

Leave a Reply

