Ouse Washes Nature Reserve

Still currently in England.

On Wednesday I enjoyed and afternoon birdwatching with my friend Bruce Martin.

P1000577

I first met Bruce when I was eleven years old and he has been there ever since (along with his wife Gwen who sadly passed away last year) to help and encourage me during my life working in nature conservation.

The Ouse Washes at Welches Dam is owned and managed by the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds and I worked there for two years from the age of 16 when I left school.  In fact one of the hides that we sat in, I helped to build 30 years ago!

P1000576

We saw a nice variety of birds (many of which spend their summer with us in Northern Scandinavia) including a pair of Common Cranes

P1000578

One of the cranes has colour rings on its legs and is a bird released as part of a re-introduction project.

P1000581

This particular individual is a female called Beatrice.

Beatrice

Blue Red White
  • Blue
  • Red
  • White

What is this?

  • Sex: Female
  • Date of Hatching (birthday): 28 April, 2011
  • Date of Release: 22 August, 2011
  • Tracking Tag: Radio tracking
  • Status: Alive, paired with an un-ringed bird. No known breeding attempts. Been in East Anglia since Spring 2015

You can read more about this bird hear http://www.thegreatcraneproject.org.uk/cranes/meet-the-cranes-2011/beatrice

One thought on “Ouse Washes Nature Reserve

  1. Hi dear birdwatcher,
    I always like your posts. I would love to live in your surroundings, all this nature. One of your pictures made me think of ‘Waterland’ a wet part of Noord Holland near Amsterdam were I live. It attracts a lot of birds and I love to watch them.
    But even here in the city near the river IJ in Amsterdam, I twice saw on an early misty morning during my regular early cold swim, an (what we call in Holland) icebird. A beautiful exotic looking blue and copper coloured bird who lives of fish. I stayed longer in the cold water not to chase it away and watch it a little bit longer.
    Your ‘Beatrice’ is so funny as a young bird and amazing now she is an adult.
    Hope you and your friend can watch birds together for many years ahead.
    Greetings,
    Ingrid

Leave a Reply

