New Job

Last Friday was the last day at my job working in the village shop as they had decided not to continue my employment due to my illness.  Twenty minutes before I was due to visit the job centre yesterday and register myself as unemployed, I was offered a three month job as Project Leader to Vuollerim 6000 Nature and Culture museum

vuollerim 6000 (Small)

which is now becoming The Arctic Circle Gateway 97.  I wrote about a visit to Vuollerim 6000 here; https://naturallore.wordpress.com/?s=vuollerim&submit=Search.  If you read my blog and live on or close to the Arctic Circle in another part of the world, I would very much like to hear from you!

My job is to produce costings and proposals for new displays and information in the centre.

Last weekend we visited the cabin.

On Saturday morning we decided to go to the other side of the lake and make fire and fish.

camp-lapland

There was a cold north-westerly wind and my dad was not a happy man because he was so cold (wait until it’s -40!)

norman-warrington

The fish were not biting at all so we caught nothing.

A friend in the nearest village (10kms away) came with his tractor to help remove and clear stones and tree stumps from in front of the cabin, to create a parking for our vehicles

tractor-working

We are very pleased with the end result

parking-2parking-1

Kelly has her own bed now and sleeps in the kitchen sofa

wall papered (Large)

It opens out into a bed and is very traditional here in Sweden

kelly-new-bed

On Sunday I made boats with Kelly and Emma, out of bits and piece we found laying around the cabin.  we then raced them on the lake.

boats-kevin-warrington

3 thoughts on “New Job

  1. You live a life that a lot of us dream about. Keep up the emails.
    Charles Finney
    Reading, Pa.

  2. Hey Kevin, remember me? Anita from Suffolk?! KT Tunstall has released a new album which made me think of you after you bought me her album for my birthday 100 years ago! How on earth are you? Having an amazing time it seems, I am so happy to see that you are living the bushcraft way! Congratulations!
    Enjoy it all!
    Anita x

Leave a Reply

