Bad luck continues

When dad moved here at the end of April, we decided to buy a brand new car, which would be easy for him to get in and out of and which had 7 seats so that all the family had space in the car.  After a lot of research, we decided to buy a SEAT Alhambra.

cabin-2

We have been very happy with the car and the customer service we received three weeks ago when the car had it’s first service.

Last Wednesday I checked the oil in the car and it was only half full, so I bought some oil in Gällivare on Friday and on Saturday morning I was going to put oil in the engine.  When I removed the dip-stick the oil was thick and grey and white in colour indicating that there was water in the engine.

I telephoned SEAT assistance and explained the situation and they said they would send out a recovery vehicle and the car would have to be taken to the nearest SEAT garage which is 230kms from where we live.  They informed me that I had the right to a hire car and as my car would be repaired in Luleå they advised me to hire a car from there and go with the recovery vehicle to collect a hire car.  I agreed and SEAT said they would locate and book a hire car for me during the journey.

When I picked up the hire car, they informed me that under SEAT assistance rules, I only had the right to a hire car for 5 days, and that I must pay to insure it.  After 5 days I have to claim a hire car through my SEAT insurance policy and pay 1000SEK and 25% of the hire costs.  I had wrongly assumed that as this was a new car, with a new car guarantee, I would incur no costs.

During my drive home with the hire car, the recovery driver called me and informed me that he had mistakenly left his own keys with my vehicle at the SEAT garage and had taken home my car keys (he lives three hours from Luleå.  As I had an appointment at Luleå hospital and Monday, he asked if I could take the reserve key with me to Luleå and then take home his car key (why do these things always happen to me!!)

The garage have called me today and said that there was only condensation in the engine, situated just around the dip-stick tube, as though it was no big deal.  I asked why this had happened and why everything looked normal on Wednesday, but had changed on Saturday, and they could not explain this, so I said that this was not acceptable.  They have now referred the problem to Volkswagen in Germany for an explanation as to what has happened and a decision as to what they can do to fix the problem, but SEAT have said that they will not agree to loan me a car until my vehicle is returned.

The current situation is that on Friday I must return the hire car, but then have no way to get back home from Luleå.

On Friday morning we had a Pygmy Owl in the garden, but I did not manage to get a photograph of it (this is an old picture).

Sparvuggla1 (630 x 471)

Leave a Reply

