A little bit of luck

This is as close as we get to seeing the sun at the moment.

almost-see-the-sun-lapland

The weather has been very strange for the past week, as it has been above freezing and temperatures have even been as high as 9 degrees C, with some rain.

I was working up on the house roof over the weekend, designing and building a platform for the chimney sweeper to be able to inspect the flue we have put up.

chimney-platform-2 chimney-platform

I was incredibly lucky because on Monday all the snow came down from the roof and if I had still been working on the roof at the time, I would have gone with it!

snow-fallen-from-roof

The stove installation is now complete and we used the stove for the first time yesterday.

new-woodburnerI made cheese and pickle toasties for everyone, in the oven (tonight it will be pizza’s).

toasted-sandwiches

I have constructed a wooden box, which I have mounted on to a plastic sled, to use for fetching wood from the shed.

wood-sled

On Tuesday the missing poles for my Thermarest cot finally arrived.  I thought I would at least receive an apology for the inconvenience, but the only thing in the packet was the items and a business card.

thermarest-cot-cascade-designs  For the first time, I have tried using a sewing machine to make a leather bag and I was pleased with the end result (hand sewing is much more relaxing though)

reindeer-skin-bagFinally, I would just like to wish all my friends and readers….

christmas-card

5 thoughts on “A little bit of luck

  1. Have a great Christmas Kevin, hope you and your family have a wonderful new year. I look forward to reading more about your life away from Gazeley.

  2. Have a great Christmas… please keep up the posts as many of us love seeing what you and your lovely family are up to.
    I hope 2017 sees you with better health .

Leave a Reply

