My “Harlton hacienda”

I learnt a lot about Mors Kochanski’s invension “The Super Shelter” when I was on his winter survival course in 2006.

70-super-shelter-with-cover

There is a lot of work that goes into its construction, and so one of Mors’ understudies (Kelly Harlton) devised a simplified version, that can easily be carried and set-up.  How the shelter works is explained in the video

I have now made a Harlton  Hacienda which I can use in conjunction with my Thermarest Ultralite cot.

To make mine I have  used;

  • a piece of Mylar Survival Blanket
  • my new silnylon tarp which I made
  • 0.6mm thick plastic sheeting (2x – 2m x 5m which I have taped together.harlton-hacienda

I used Aluminium tape around the edge of the Mylar survival blanket to help give it strength, as they tear so easily.

I could only buy plastic in a 2m width, so I have to use a special tape to tape together two sheets of 5m x 2m sheets to give me a sheet that was 5m x 4m (5m x 5m would be even better).

This is how it looks once up.

harlton-hacienda-kevin-warrington

and with my cot inside

harlton-hacienda-thermarest-cot

Here is a view from the side, which shows that a fire should be made one pace away from the front of the shelter.

harlton-hacienda-fore-one-pace-from-shelter

The outer temperature and the amount of equipment you have with you, dictates the size of fire required.  So if you have a sleeping bag with you, you might only use a small fire to add a little extra heat inside, but if you have no sleeping bag you would require a long-log fire which will generate much heat.

20170218_163700

The shelter packs down small and weighs about 1.2kgs.

p1050618

6 thoughts on “My “Harlton hacienda”

  1. That sure looks like a great covering for the cold. Sure appreciate hearing from you and what you are doing.
    Charles Finney

Leave a Reply

