Sleeping mat pump

I have been reading about problems with mould in sleeping mats when you inflate them with your breath; especially in the Neo Xlite which I have.

I tried to find a 3V USB pump on the internet to inflate it with, but there isn’t such a thing, so I contacted Biolite to ask if they were interested in producing one to use in-conjunction with the USB port on the BioLite Campstove, but they were not.

So I have had to come up with an alternative idea……I have a dry liner dab in my rucksack, which has a valve in the bottom.  I fill the bag with air and then close the top.  Using a piece of tube, I connect the two valves from the bag to the mat

drybag_thermarest_pump-3

I then compress the bag and the air flows into the mat

drybag_thermarest_pump-1

The bag holds 50 litres so I only need a couple of bags full of air to inflate the mat.

drybag_thermarest_pump-2

Last weekend I also tried making a tent out of my new Aqua Sil Guide Tarp, and I was very pleased with the result.

The width is 2,5 metres so there is more than enough room for my Thermarest Cot.

We have a pair of Pine Grosbeaks visiting our bird table at the moment, and I managed to get a decent picture of the male.

pine grosbeak_kevin-warrington

Chaffinches, Yellowhammers, Greenfinches and Whooper Swans have also arrived for the summer.

2 thoughts on “Sleeping mat pump

  1. How do you find the tarp? Got to say I have a 3m tatonka but fancy a bit mote room and after reading your other post thought your new tarp may be a good investment…

Leave a Reply

