Well done Alpkit!

A few weeks ago I bought an Alpkit Pipedream 400 down sleeping bag for use during the spring, summer and autumn.  I used it at the Morakniv adventure this year.

inside my shelter morakniv

This summary is from the Alpkit website;

“PipeDream 400 Hydrophobic down sleeping bag

In June I received an email from Alpkit;

We have become aware of an error in the supply of our down. The batch of sleeping bags which included your PipeDream 400 Hydrophobic has not been manufactured from Nikwax Hydrophobic down.

The hydrophobic properties of a sleeping bag are just one factor that run alongside other equally important factors such as fill power, construction, fabrics and shape to keep you warm and cosy on your adventures. The down in your bag is RDS certified and it is the same high quality down we have been using in our sleeping bags for years. The comfort rating, fill power and compressibility are all unchanged. “

And they added;

When we find out something has gone wrong, we own up and do what we can to put it right.”

I think their honesty is to be commended, but of course I was a little disappointed to find out that the product was not up to the standard I had paid for.

I decided to contact Alpkit for more information and this was the reply I received;

“…..I would like to assure you that the bag is treated and its thermal and constructional properties are all as you initially expected as these were all tested by our independent lab before putting them online. The treatment used was just not the standard that we expect. The hydrophobic properties are also just shy of being hydrophobic. The shake test requires down to last 40 mins to be classed as hydrophobic. In our independent testing, the batch in question lasted between 34 – 50 mins, so although we cannot class it as hydrophobic in every instance, it is much more hydrophobic that normal down.

The only instance where you would need the full hydrophobic properties are in arctic conditions where if you got your bag wet, then there would be a little more defence to keep you warm. But then again, nothing is warm and wet apart from a jacuzzi!

As this bag only has a rating of -6 degrees I will never be using it here in “arctic conditions”, so although they Alpkit were happy for me to return the bag and they would pay P&P plus I would receive a full refund for the bag, I decided to keep it and they have now kindly sent me a couple of free products.

The products I have received are their MYTIMUG 400 and 650 titanium mugs.  The 400 holds 400ml and weighs 74g and the 650 holds 650ml and weighs 94g.  I have made a leather pouch to keep them in, which I can hook onto my belt.

reindeer skin pouch

and the 400 fits perfectly inside the 650.

alpkit mytimug 650

Inside the 400 mug I have another leather pouch with coffee and stock cubes in it.

alpkit mytimug warringtonalpkit mytimug 400

I am very pleased with the customer service I have received from Alpkit.

 

Leave a Reply

