Gahkku

We currently have a few days of reasonable weather (snow and +2 degrees are forecast again this weekend) so I am working on the list wall of the cabin that we have in our garden.

I have removed the outer boards

And the old insulation

I have put new insulation in the wall and covered with a wind tight material

I am hoping to get the work completed before the mosquitos emerge.

Bad weather last weekend meant that we baked some traditional bread called “Gahkku”

The dough is divided in small pieces and each rolled out thinly

And then placed in a warm dry frying pan until brown on both sides.

It is a very poor year for migrant birds so far this year. Usually from the beginning of May we can 200+ migrant birds feeding at our bird table but this year there are none.

2 thoughts on “Gahkku

  1. Do you share your gahkku recipe? I found out that I am part Sami and would like to make this.

Leave a comment