Break up is happening…..slowly.

It is not so warm here this week, with temperatures at night going down to minus 10 and during the day climbing to just above freezing. Break up is however happening slowly.

I have spent quite a bit of time ice fishing but I’ve got absolutely nothing.

Last week was warmer, and last weekend I was out during the night to count Capercaillie and Black Grouse. Unfortunately even with large snowshoes the snow couldn’t support my weight but every step I kept falling down to my waist.

And then I broke through the ice and my boots and trousers were filled with water.

I just said I did not to continue after this but did however find sign of Black Grouse.

My new tent has arrived. It is a Naturehike Mongar 2 tent. The quality of the tent seems to be superior to the Onetigris tent, and it was cheaper.

I had planned to sleep out last night and test the tent, but while driving home from work, my knee started to hurt and the pain got worse and worse. My knee swelled up in the end, I was unable to bend it.

Today however it is much better.

2 thoughts on “Break up is happening…..slowly.

  1. Knee looks like it has taken a beating, only thing I know of to help bad knee is ice & rest. Thrashing around on snowshoes is hard on knees. Early morning travel is best when snow is still frozen from the colder night time temperatures.

    a lot of our lakes have a lot of plant life which dies over the winter. In the decomposition of plant life they use up a lot of the dissolved oxygen that fish need to breath. Some lake get so low on dissolved oxygen that the fish die. Up here on my side of the world it is called “winter kill”. Catching fish that are struggling to get oxygen is kinda like trying to feed a sandwich to a depending person in these lakes.

    Take care of yourself and enjoy the long daylight after the polar night.

    What Is the name of your favorite type of sausages? The packaged sausages over here are not like the ones I grew up with back in the farm country of Minnesota. Every butcher had his own secret formula, all were good, some were really good and some were delicious.

    • Hi Richard, traditional Swedish sausage is rather like spam. You can eat it cold or cooked and it doesn’t have a lot of taste. I have found some fresh sausages that have to be fried or grilled before you can eat them, but they are not as good as the ones we had in the UK.

Leave a comment